News PhD Program News

Graduate alumni Green and Solinski selected as 2023 CAS Future Leaders

Chemistry graduate program alumni Mallory Green and Amy Solinski have been selected as 2023 CAS Future Leaders.

The CAS Future Leaders program supports the growth of science leadership potential among early-career scientists. Since 2010, the program has awarded Ph.D. students and postdoctoral scholars with opportunities to network with peer scientists from around the world, connect with industry thought leaders, and take part in science leadership training.  The 35 scholars in the 2023 cohort were selected from hundreds of applicants.

Awardees receive an expense-paid trip to CAS Headquarters in Columbus, Ohio and to the ACS Fall 2023 meeting in San Fransisco, California alongside other benefits to help them to connect with ACS and with the global network of over 240 CAS Future Leaders fellows and alumni.

Mallory Green

Mallory is currently an Alexander von Humboldt postdoctoral scholar at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Berlin, Germany. Her current project explores “Photoelectron Circular Dichroism of Chiral Anions” under the direction of Prof. Gerard Meijer, Dr.

At Emory, Mallory conducted research in the Heaven Group for which she received the 2020 Quayle Outstanding Dissertation Award and recognition as a Reaxys Prize Finalist. At Emory, Mallory also served as Social Chair and President of Pi Alpha Chemical Society and taught her own section of CHEM 150 as Instructor of Record.

Amy Solinski

Amy is currently an NIH postdoctoral scholar at Pennsylvania State University in the lab of Dr. Squire Booker where she is investigating radical SAM enzyme mechanisms.

Amy transferred to Emory from Temple University in the summer of 2017 with faculty member Dr. William Wuest. In the Wuest Group, she worked on the development of small molecules that target biofilm in the oral microbiome. During her time at Emory, Amy was the recipient of the 2018 ACS Georgia Section Women in Chemistry Scholarship, a member of the Georgia Chapter of the WCC, and a member of Emory’s Association for Women in Science (AWIS).

Congratulations, Mallory and Amy!