Welcome to the fall 2019 entering graduate cohort

We are excited to welcome our 2019 graduate cohort to campus!

This group of early career scientists is distinguished by their broad research experience and training, including summer REUs and participation in programs such as:

  • National Consortium for Graduate Degrees for Minorities in Engineering and Science (GEM)
  • Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP)
  • McNair Scholars
  • NIH Initiative to Maximize Student Development (IMSD)
  • NIH Post-Baccelaureate Research Education Program (PrEP)
  • NSF STEM Talent Expansion Program
  • Robert A. Welch Foundation Research Fellowship
  • Rotary Club Scholarship

Almost every student in the cohort has been a peer instructor for chemistry courses and many completed an honors thesis. Outside of the classroom, these scholars have pursued techniques relevant to chemistry via industry internships, training as a certified pharmacy technician, and beyond. They have conducted outreach in K-12 education, their universities, and the broader community. 

In recognition of their academic and research excellence, our new graduate scholars received generous support from highly competitive Laney Graduate School fellowships. The cohort includes:

  • 7 Centennial Scholars
  • 1 IMSD Fellow
  • 2 Laney Scholars
  • 2 Quayle New Student Awardees
  • 5 Women in Science Scholars
  • 3 Woodruff Scholars

Each of these students has their own story to tell and incredible potential to draw on Emory resources to forge an amazing scientific career.

Entering Class of 2019

Anna Blood
New College of Florida

Patrick Gross
College of Charleston

Kendra Ireland
Sam Houston State University

Noah Jaffe
Emory University

Ayanna Jones
Clark Atlanta University

Stacey Jones
Georgia State University

Christina Lester
East Tennessee State University

Kimberly Marroquin
University of West Georgia

Zakiria Mays
Georgia State University

Kirklin McWhorter
Auburn University

Yasir Naeem
Hunter College

Christian Sanchez
Pepperdine University

Gavin Smith
University of California, Santa Cruz

Sa Suo
Southern University of Science and Technology

Rachel Washington
Willamette University